Quote:
Originally posted by Tim C
Mick:
I appreciate the humor but the question still lingers:
"Would you call a "T" for a player leaving the court illegally when attempting to get around a screen?"
I really need to know . . . again, history DOES NOT make this a normal practice.
|
Tim, and GFS --
The interpretation of the rule is the same in FED and NCAA.
The wording is better in NCAA: Deceptively leaving the playing court and returning at a more advantageous position for an unauthorized reason.
AR8 -- Screen, O-player goes out-of-bounds, returns on other side of lane: Ruling: T.
AR9 -- Screen, D player sees screen, steps OOB to avoid contact: Ruling: Not a T (generally)
(Obviously, I haven't typed in the full ARs.)
On the screen, I try to stop it the first time I see it (officials can set screens, too.

).
Later on, I'd guess I'd call it (I've not seen a team attempt it after I told them to stop).