View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 10, 2009, 03:05pm
kdf5 kdf5 is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
Originally Posted by Jim D. View Post
I have to disagree here. When A50 steps out of bounds, he does not lose his status as a player (he does not become a replaced player or a substitute see (2-32-1). He cannot return inbounds (9-6-1) during the down, but he can interfere or particapate in the play in a legal maner. For example, he could reach over the sideline inbounds and touch a loose ball (causing it to be dead). If he were an eligible receiver, he could knock a pass down, keeping B from an interception. In this play, he could be called for a hold, but he cannot be called for IP unless he returns inbounds.
But doesn't he "return" when he grabs B99? By the definition of Participation he had an influence on the play.
Reply With Quote