View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 07, 2009, 11:06pm
Steven Tyler Steven Tyler is offline
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant View Post
Watching the DET TOR game tonight where a SF brought in game winning run brought up the following sit.

Bases loaded tie game, last 9th no outs. Batter hits Fly to OF and runner on 3B scores on a close play at HP and entire winning team runs on field congratulating every one. Catcher then goes to 3B and appeals to umpire that runner left too early which is upheld. Is one of the runners on originally on 1B or 2B (now in dugout) automatically called out for leaving baseline or does catcher have to tag them?
What did the MLB umpires do? Did they return both runners if catcher didn't do any of the things that you that you suggested? MLB umpires quest is to get every call right. I say that they more than likely fixed the situation and put runners back on base.

My guess is the catcher wouldn't have to tag anyone. Runners would be called out for leaving the field of play if such a rule exists for a play like the one you described at the supposed end of a ball game.
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me?
Reply With Quote