View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 06, 2009, 01:50am
marvin marvin is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dholloway1962 View Post
Team playing DP/Flex. DP is batting in 6th batting position. For some reason unknown, the Flex bats thinking she is the 10th batter. The 9 hole batter bats and creates the 2nd out. The Flex then bats and grounds out for 3rd out. Defense approaches before all left field and points out that Flex batted.

Here's what I did: Flex became an Illegal Substitute for the 1 hole batter by batting improperly. The 1 hole batter has now left the game and is re-entered by coach. The Flex is DQ'd for the game. The 3rd out stands. The correct batter when this team comes back to bat is the 2 hole batter.

Did I get everything covered?
If this is NFHS you got it exactly right!

This is covered by Rule 3-3-6-g

Quote:
Placing the FLEX into one of the first nine positions for someone other then the the DP's position is considered and illegal substitution. The illegal substitute shall be removed from the game and restricted to the dugout/bench. See Rule 2-57-3 and 3-4 for additional penalties.
Casebook play 3.3.6 Situation F covers this.

The correct batter to start the next inning would be B2. You would need a sub for the DQed player (either an eligible sub or the DP) and as you stated the coach has to use B1's re-entry to get her back in the game (or use another legal sub with B1 remaining out of the game).

Last edited by marvin; Mon Apr 06, 2009 at 01:54am. Reason: added info
Reply With Quote