Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
If the exception only applied to true D3K situations (that is, where there actually is an uncaught 3rd strike with 1B unoccupied or 2 outs), then there would be no need for the exception. In ASA, the exception is stated Taking this exception literally, it would never apply at all because if it is not an actual D3K, there is no BR! Obviously, it seems to me, the literal interpretation is not what was intended.
|
Tom... I was heading in the same direction. If you took this rule literally then you have a retired batter that is going to first and if she draws the throw she should be called for interfering with the play.
My book is in the car. Was the rule quoted correctly?