View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 26, 2009, 09:21pm
dahoopref dahoopref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
I've been told by a few D1 officials about this and the sentiment is this:

They must state that the crew is going to the monitor to review a "timing error;" not for a violation. They can then check to see if the ball hit the rim or not. It's a technicality on words by saying they are checking a timing error.

Rule 2 Sec 13 Art 2c
Timing
4. Determine whether the shot clock failed to properly start, stop, set
or reset
or that the shot clock has malfunctioned.
Determination is
based on the judgment of the official. The mistake or malfunctioning
problem may only be corrected in the shot clock period in which
it occurred. Any activity after the mistake or malfunction has been
committed and until it has been rectified shall be canceled, excluding
a flagrant personal foul, intentional personal foul or any technical
foul.
Reply With Quote