R1 on 1B. BR hits a foul ball towards open dugout. It was determined in the pregame conference that inside the dugout was deadball territory. F3 makes the catch going toward the open dugout, momentum carries F3 toward the dugout. He steps into the dugout with 1 foot only. R1 was stealing on the play, so he tried to turn around and beat F3 back to 1B. F3 beat him back to 1B.
I called the BR out on the catch & R1 out for being putout by R3.
Looking at rule 5.1 I think I or J.....It appears I made the right call. It states that after the catch is made with both feet in fair territory, that once "both" feet or a player falls into deadball territory, it is a deadball (paraphrased).
Did I make the right call? This was a JV game, but I would like other opinions.
One of the coaches from the team that was putout argued a little and I understand his point, but his point was a ball "caught" with one foot in and one foot out.
This situation was a catch and carry which only one foot was out on the carry. Catch was made with both feet in fair ball territory.
Just need clarification..
Thanks