Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
ASA and NFHS have the same issue regarding stopping on a base, even if not for the BR overrunning.
|
Dakota, not the point of my post.
Here is my point: all three code have the same LBR (albeit some different language, but it is interpreted the same) when a player
rounds a base (i.e. she is between first and second, second and third, or third and home).
However, the criteria for the LRB change with a runner overruns first base, meaning there are now "a secondary" or "special case" LBR. And the codes diverge at this point. ASA and NF have a very strict rule (and NF has the best phrasing). NCAA is not as strict as ASA and NF (allows for the runner to break to second as long as she has not crossed into foul territory past the "base line extended"), but it is more restrictive than the "typical" LBR from when you round the base. However all three agree that once you overrun first, come back to the base and then go to second, the runner is out.
But neither code directly addresses the OP. Basically you have three options: call her out for LBR (dead ball); call time and place her there (still a dead ball); or allow the ball to be live and chaos ensue.