View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 20, 2009, 01:22pm
Big Slick Big Slick is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
Steve, you are making this way more complicated than it needs to be.

Let's address your issue about "stopping." We will take NCAA 12.21.f (4) as issue now. If you overrun first, return to first, touch it, then break to second base, that's on out. This is a specific case of 12.21.f (3), because to change directions, you have to "stop" (technically you have an acceleration = zero as my engineer friend of mine told me). Therefore, point 4 reinforces point 3. Why didn't they write it that specific? Because that is the only direction a runner should go. Why would a runner overrun first and then decide to head back home? Does she want to hit again? The rules do not address this because it isn't suppose to happen. So I go back to may earlier response: either call her out for point 4 (and deal with the offensive coach) or call time and place her at first (and deal with the defensive coach).
Reply With Quote