View Single Post
  #74 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 19, 2009, 10:36am
M&M Guy M&M Guy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf View Post
Then by your interpretation, if A1 is fouled while he is throwing the ball to A2 and it deflects off B3 into the basket, you must count the basket.

You cannot have it both ways.
Nope, that is not my interpretation, and that is not the rule. I've said that from the beginning (actually, post #9 in this thread).

The rule does not magically change a thrown ball into a try. All it says is either a throw, tap, or try that originates from outside the arc counts 3 points, even if it is touched by the defense. If we judge it to be a try, than all of the rules governing a try still appliy - the basket counts if A1 is fouled, or if the horn sounds ending a period while the try is still in the air. If we judge it to be a pass, then the ball is dead immediately upon a foul, the horn sounds, etc. None of those other rules change.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote