Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I took your OP to mean that the player went for the ball, but had not yet contacted it with his tapping motion when the defender fouled him and that forced his arm forward and into the ball. As I noted above, that foul occurs PRIOR to the act of shooting and the goal cannot be counted nor can FTs be awarded, other than for the bonus.
However, if the tapper had already reached the ball and made contact with it, then you handled it correctly.
Either you need to convey your meaning better in written words or I need to decipher it better when reading them. 
Anyway, I hope that my prior post was helpful and instructive should such a situation arise in one of your games.
1. It didn't sound that way to me, but that may have been the case.
2. I have to disagree. Trying to do it that way can only lead to trouble. Keep it simple and go with the start of the contact. Don't give the would be tapper FTs that he doesn't deserve by rule.
|
2. If contact prior to the tap is incidental, why call it? Only when the ball is also contact with A1 does B1's contact become a problem during the tap. I'm with Camron: shooting foul.
It's just like when Illegal Contact gets upgraded to Pass Interference because the ball has been thrown. Remember Terry Porter?