View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 13, 2009, 11:41am
zm1283 zm1283 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
By rule, this is not a violation. The requirements are not met:
1. Team control by A.
2. Ball gains front court status (when tipped by B).
3. A is not the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt.
4. A2 is the first to touch the ball with BC status.

What is missing is that part where team A is the last to touch the ball "before" it gains backcourt status.

The recent NFHS interp, however, essentially states that #3 and #4 can happen at the same time.

Now, if the ball had hit another A player rather than B1 and then bounced into the BC, it's a violation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick View Post
Rethink this:
Team A never lost team control; they had it in the backcourt and maintained it. B's bat does not change team control
A2 caught the ball while having frontcourt location.
What do you say to the post above by Snaqwells then?
Reply With Quote