View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 09, 2009, 05:06pm
socalblue1 socalblue1 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbarry06248 View Post
A pitcher puts out his foot to stop a ground ball from going up the middle. The ball deflects off foot towards first base line. Pitcher chases ball. When pitcher gets to ball, using a sitting slide, he is in the base line. The runner is forced to dive over him and doesn't reach base. Pitcher throws out runner while runner is still lying on ground.

Is this obstruction? Is the initial attempt to stop the ball with the foot considered a play at the ball, or is it all one continuous play?

Also, I cannot find any detail on this in rule book. Where might I find the rule on this?

Thanks,

John
John,

Did F1 have possession of the ball when the batter-runner dove over him? if so, no obstruction (fielder has ball). If F1 is still trying to gain possession then I would very possibly have obstruction, though it's HTBT.

Jim
Reply With Quote