View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 05, 2009, 02:17pm
Scrapper1 Scrapper1 is offline
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
That is correct. The mascot is a team follower and his actions could result in a team technical foul, but he is not an opponent and therefore cannot commit disconcertion.

The result of the attempted FT should have stood.
This is also my position. HOWEVER. . .

This exact scenario happened in a women's NCAA D2 game locally (I had the men's game following, that's how I know about it) and the officials called disconcertion. Their assignor backed them, and they apparently even got a ruling from the NCAA rules editor to support the call. I don't know if it will get published, but I personally think it's a bad ruling.

Only "opponents" can disconcert. Hard to see the mascot as an opponent.
Reply With Quote