Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Jim D.  A2 was about 5 to 7 yards away from A1.  I think he was running a route but I don't think B was trying to figure that out.  B just was trying to get to A1 and pushed A2 aside in an attempt.  This all happened at or behind the line.  
 In this play B was not trying to disrupt or hinder A2's route, he was going for the runner and A2 was in the way.  The question is does this rule give a potential receiver special rights to run an unimpeded route or not?  Some of us said "no" and some thought "yes".  The interpreter said "yes", but I honestly think he's wrong on this one.  As long as a player is between a defender and the runner, he is a potential blocker, even if he's looking back to the runner.
 | 
	
 I tend to be more of a literalist when it comes to the rules so I go back to the case book's definition where it says he's no longer a potential blocker OR he's not attempting to block.  It seems A2 falls into the latter category.  Tickcy tack?  Had to be there?  Righteous call?
Ed:  a defensive player can push an opponent to get to the ball or runner as long as it's not illegal use of hands, which is the play in question.