Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by MGKBLUE  ...Therefore, I would not invoke the shorthanded rule until such time as the player misses a turn at bat.  (ASA - 4.1.d.2.a;  NFHS - 4-3-1-g)... | 
	
 I disagree.  4-1-d-2-d refers to "if" the player is a runner or batter... leaving the possiblity of them NOT being a runner or batter (e,g, a fielder).  Reference to the batting order is for count purposes (when do you go shorthanded) and for charging the out (... 2-e), which, BTW, also implies they may have been playing shorthanded for some time before the player is due to bat.