View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 27, 2009, 12:35pm
bradfordwilkins bradfordwilkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 322
So if we have this situation, possession belongs to home... Visitor team throws it in, ball is legally touched in bounds... and 5 seconds in your partner blows the whistle to attempt to correct a non-correctable error.

You discuss this with your partner and agree it cannot be corrected.

Do you then (by rule), give the ball to Visitor team and indicate an inadvertent whistle (assuming visitor team had team control at the POI)?

Let's also say the above scenerio WITHOUT the whistle (because both you and your partner have read this thread so know the rule...). The table, going on auto-pilot, changes the possession arrow (this is more likely in a rec game where there is no clear home or away). You don't realize they changed it until the next jump ball. Is the clock/book official or your personal method of keeping track with definitive knowledge (I switch a card in my pockets) the official ruling?
Reply With Quote