Thread: Possesson arrow
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 25, 2009, 08:25pm
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Fed

Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
Team A is awarded possession after a held ball. While A is trying to inbound, a foul is called off the ball. The ball is never actually inbounded. The foul was team B's 7th of the half, so A is shooting 1 and 1. Does the arrow change? I think yes, but can someone confirm?
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
This happened during the Indiana-Northwestern game, and IU kept the arrow. I'm assuming then that Fed and NCAA rules are in agreement here?
The arrow is reversed when a throw-in ends.

A throw-in ENDS when:
  • the ball is legally touched inbounds, OR
  • the throwing-in team violates
A foul by either team results in either shots for the bonus or a throw-in due to the foul. The arrow is no longer part of the equation. A kick-ball violation by the defense causes a throw-in for the violation, and the arrow is no longer part of the equation.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote