Quote:
Originally Posted by UNH IM Ref
After administering the jump at a middle school game a couple of weeks ago player A1 gains possession and immediately drives to the wrong hoop and scores a lay-in at team B's basket despite his coach & parent's screams. I was very unsure of what call to make and so (knowing it was probably not correct) I called a violation and gave team B the baseline on their own end while keeping the possession arrow to team B as well.
I looked later for some clarification and found a NIRSA book that says the correct call (when the official feels the mistake was accidental) is to award the 2 points to team A and continue to go the wrong way until the next whistle, at which point you direct the teams to the correct sides. Doesn't that sound kind of crazy? Did I misread the book?
Thanks
|
You have four possible scenarios in this case.
1. Jumpers lined up properly, ball tapped to the backcourt for A2 and A2shoots at B's basket,
2. Jumpers lined up properly, ball tapped to the frontcourt for A2 and A2 shoots at B's basket (after crossing the division line),
3. Jumpers lined up reversed, ball tapped backward (to A2 actual FRONTCOURT) and A2 shoots at A's basket (even though it APPEARED to be B's basket based on the way the team's lined up),
4. Jumpers lined up reversed, ball tapped forward (to A2 actual BACKCOURT), A2 crosses the division line and A2 shoots at B's basket (even though it APPEARED to be A's Basket).
1. 2 points awarded to team B. A2 committed no violation (backcourt violation). Ball went in and through B's basket. To avoid further confusion, official should blow whistle and announce the situation. Team A throw-in along the endline.
2. Throw-in to Team B at the division line since A2 committed a backcourt violation when he crossed from his frontcourt (team control established) and dribbled into the backcourt (last to touch in frontcourt and first to touch in the backcourt 9-9-3).
3. Basket counts for Team A. Per Case 5.2.1E:
JUMPERS FACING WRONG DIRECTION
5.2.1 SITUATION E: During the pregame practice period, the visiting team
properly uses the east goal and the home team the west goal. The officials, by mistake, allow the jumpers to face the wrong direction to start the game. A1 controls the tap by tapping the ball back to A2. A2, realizing that he/she had warmed up at the basket behind A1, dribbles to that basket and scores an uncontested basket.
RULING: Score the basket for Team A. The officials should stop the game and emphasize to both teams the proper direction.
The mistake is an official's error by allowing A1 and B1 to face the wrong direction; not a correctable error. NOTE: I assume that the same ruling would apply if the visiting team had properly used the west goal.

4. Basket counts for Team A. Per Case 5.2.1F:
5.2.1 SITUATION F: During the pregame practice period, the visiting team
properly uses the east goal and the home team the west goal. The officials, by mistake, allow the jumpers to face the wrong direction to start the game. Several baskets are scored before it is recognized that both teams are throwing the ball into the opponent' basket. RULING:
All points scored count as if the teams had gone the right direction and scored in their own basket. Once the mistake is recognized, play shall continue with each team attempting to score in its own basket. (4-5-4).