Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
I would be careful about using where the blow lands as your only criteria. What if A1 is significantly taller, and the elbow happens to hit B1 in the face as A1 is looking downcourt at a teammate who is breaking open? I would treat this different than A1 trying to create space, takes a look at B1, then lands the elbow in the same spot with the same force as my first example. Iow, intent should be a part of the decision.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by chartrusepengui
Disagree. Had a game with a big (really big - like 6'11" 300#) guy gets rebound in middle of lane. He chins the ball and pivots. As he pivots, he catches B1 who was behind him, over opposite shoulder but moving accross lane turning to get back on defense. A1 caught him square in the kisser with his elbow as he pivoted. B1 hits floor. A1 got foul but it was not flagrant in this case. There was no intent - I don't think he knew B1 was coming across behind him. No problems with either coach on the call. You have to judge each case on its own merits.
|
First of all, I agree with what you both said. Each case has to be based on its own merits, this is a HTBT play, and the landing strip for the elbow should never be the only criteria whether something is flagrant or not.
However, excessively swinging of the elbows is definitely different than pivoting and an extended elbow catches someone in the face. Excessively, at least to me, means that the the players torso is not coinciding with the player's elbows.
-Josh