View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 29, 2002, 03:42pm
BoBo BoBo is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianola, Ia
Posts: 319
Question

QB A1 pitches the ball to tailback A2 who begins to run and then pulls up and throws a pass downfield to A3. While A2's pass is in flight B1 pushes A3. Is this interference on B1?

Is A2 granted protection as a passer?(Roughing the passer??)



According to my interpretation of Rule 7-9-c this would not be interference. B's interference rules end when the first pass has been touched by A or B. (The quick pitch is a backward pass i.e. first pass)


Just one to really think about. Many times it is called defensive interference.

Do you agree with my interpretation?
Reply With Quote