Thread: No violation?
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 17, 2009, 01:01am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by red View Post
Player A1 leaves feet to attempt shot. Defensive player B1 is in guarding position for a block attempt. Player A1 intentionally drops ball, allows it to contact the floor, regains possession and dribbles out to attempt shot.

Officials called this a travel violation. Because the ball was allowed to contact the floor and it was not a shot, wouldn't this be legal - same as batting a ball over your defender and continuing the dribble after the ball contacts the floor?
4.44.3 SITUATION B: A1 receives the ball with both feet off the floor and he/she
lands simultaneously on both feet without establishing a pivot foot. A1 then
jumps off both feet in an attempt to try for goal, but realizing the shot may be
blocked, A1 drops the ball to the floor and dribbles. RULING: A1 has traveled as
one foot must be considered to be the pivot and must be on the floor when the
ball is released to start a dribble. The fact that no pivot foot had been established
does not alter this ruling.
Reply With Quote