View Single Post
  #40 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 16, 2009, 11:10pm
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,396
Edited for television.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Do NOT even think about a "blarge" because by definition it is IMPOSSIBLE for a "blarge" to occur.
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.: Technically, you're correct, the word, "blarge" does not appear anywhere in the NFHS Rulebook, or the NFHS Casebook. However, you must know that many of us refer to 4.19.8 Situation C, as a blarge, although technically it's just a double foul.

4.19.8 SITUATION C: A1 drives for a try and jumps and releases the ball. Contact occurs between A1 and B1 after the release and before airborne shooter A1 returns one foot to the floor. One official calls a blocking foul on B1 and the other official calls a charging foul on A1. The try is successful. RULING: Even though airborne shooter A1 committed a charging foul, it is not a player-control foul because the two fouls result in a double personal foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try and the goal is scored. Play is resumed at the point of interruption, which is a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line. (4-36)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote