View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 13, 2009, 11:07pm
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
Team A is bringing the ball up the court with some resistance from Team B. As T official, I'm counting and when I get to 9, A1 throws a lob pass across the division line. If I had kept counting, I easily would have gotten to ten. I didn't call a violation because I wasn't sure.

My question is, does someone have to catch the ball in order to "establish" position in the frontcourt?

Or is the ball crossing the timeline enough?
The ball needs to obtain frontcourt status for the count to terminate, and therefore avoid the violation. The ball can obtain FC status by hitting the floor, hitting a player, an official, each solely in the FC, or the ball hitting the Team A basket ring/backboard.

If the ball is airborne from BC to FC and you hit 10, the correct call is a violation.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote