View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 11:49pm
dahoopref dahoopref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
So if it's not excessive during live ball play, why would be be excessive during a dead ball?

-Josh
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
If you're not going to call the slap on the arm an INT or FLAG foul during a live ball, why would you do it during a dead ball?
Because by definition, a contact foul that is not flagrant during a dead ball is considered an intentional technical foul.

PLEASE read pg 152 in the NCAA 2008-09 rulebook.

Foul Name: (Men) Intentional Technical Foul
Ball Status: Dead
Description: Contact with opponent in non-flagrant manner
Penalty: Two Free Throws
Charged to: Offending player
Resumption of play: Throw-in to offended team at division line.
Count toward DQ?: Yes
Count for bonus?: Yes
Count toward Ejection?: Yes, one of two CLASS A (AA) technicals or in combination with two CLASS B technicals (ABB).

Any more questions?
Reply With Quote