View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 11:11pm
jdmara jdmara is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref View Post
A jump ball is called where Team A gets the AP. About a second after the whistle is blown while A1 is holding the ball, B1 attempts to knock the ball out of A1's hands but slaps A1's arm.

With all due respect, I am sorry but I am not going to ignore this contact.

If this type of action/foul happened during a live ball, it would be a common foul (since the contact was neither intentional or flagrant). But since this occurred during a dead ball (whistle blown for the jump ball), it would be penalized as a intentional technical.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
If it wasn't intentional/flagrant when the ball was live, why would be intentional/flagrant when the ball is dead?

-Josh
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref View Post
Because it is by definition:

2008-09 NCAA Rulebook

Pg 73 Rule 4 Art 3

g. (Men) Intentional technical foul. An intentional technical foul
involves intentionally contacting an opponent in an excessive nonflagrant
manner when the ball is dead.
So if it's not excessive during live ball play, why would be be excessive during a dead ball?

-Josh
Reply With Quote