Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref
I agree with you assessment that incidental contact should be ignored; I do not think that the elbow was incidental. But a common foul (such as a slap on the arm that neither intentional or flagrant) during a dead ball is still an intentional technical foul; do we agree?
|
The elbow was anything but incidental. It was properly called a technical foul since the ball was dead following the call for a held ball. Since the contact was "intentional or flagrant" it should be penalized by a Technical Foul (under NFHS rules).
But a slap on the arm or other non-intentional, non-flagrant contact is to be ignored under such circumstances. Therefore, no, a technical foul should not be called for non-intentional, non-flagrant contact -- it is to be ignored.