View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 10:36am
Raymond Raymond is offline
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
It appears that the NFHS position on this play may now match that of the NCAA and that the 2000-01 Interp has been overturned. However, this ruling never got published for all to see.

Posted by ChuckElias on May 5, 2008: "The blue text is my explanation of exactly what we were trying to clarify, and the red text is Mary Struckoff's ruling, as related by my friend on the committee.
...

PLAY: A1 jumps to attempt a try for goal. While airborne, the ball slips from A1's hands and travels straight up. A1 catches the ball and returns to the floor. Official rules this was a fumble and player control was lost, so there is no traveling violation. Is the official correct? (Is this a loss of player control, allowing a recovery of the fumble, or is it traveling?) Yes."

http://forum.officiating.com/showpos...3&postcount=68
Wow!!! So Ms Struckoff has changed the interp but nothing has been officially published? That's not good. Do posts in this forum count as definitive information (especially those from esteemed members)?

I had emailed my colleagues the interp you provided. Guess I need to write them back and tell them I may be wrong. I have no problem with that but I sure would like to have a definitive rules citation to say one way or the other.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote