Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Had this play last night. And this time it happened with 2.1 seconds left in a tie game. I called a travel. My partners and I (plus another official in attendance) had a long discussion about it after the game.
A1 went up to shoot a floating 3-pointer, lost the ball while in the air, returned to the ground and caught the ball.
(BTW, the reason I asked the question in the OP was because I had a play Friday night where A1 went back up with an offensive rebound, lost the ball while in the air, caught the ball while in the air, and then landed. After I called a travel A2 protested that he had caused the ball to come loose with his shoulder.)
|
It appears that the NFHS position on this play may now match that of the NCAA and that the 2000-01 Interp has been overturned. However, this ruling never got published for all to see.
Posted by ChuckElias on May 5, 2008: "The blue text is my explanation of exactly what we were trying to clarify, and the red text is Mary Struckoff's ruling, as related by my friend on the committee.
...
PLAY: A1 jumps to attempt a try for goal. While airborne, the ball slips from A1's hands and travels straight up. A1 catches the ball and returns to the floor. Official rules this was a fumble and player control was lost, so there is no traveling violation. Is the official correct?
(Is this a loss of player control, allowing a recovery of the fumble, or is it traveling?) Yes."
http://forum.officiating.com/showpos...3&postcount=68