Thread: FT Violation
View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 11, 2009, 08:12pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin View Post
I KNOW, I should know this, but my mind is dead right now. Situation . . .

Last night, GV, pregame conversation with H coach. He asks, "If my girl is shooting free throws, and part of her routine is to step back, and she inadvertently steps outside of the "key" behind the 3-pt. arc, is this a violation?"

I told him yes, but didn't have a rules citation for him. The official who was on the game in question made the violation call, but didn't have a rules reference either. Since I have NEVER had this come up, I was really at a disadvantage. Help . . . please. Thanks.
9.1.3 SITUATION J: The official administering a free throw awarded to A1
places the ball at his/her disposal. A1, who is inside the free-throw semicircle
leaves the semicircle to confer with a teammate. RULING: Violation. After the ball
has been placed at the disposal of the free thrower,
he/she is not permitted to
leave or enter the free-throw semicircle without violating, until restrictions have
ended.
(9-1-3e Penalty 1)
Reply With Quote