Thanks Chuck.

Thinking more about this play, the ball HAD been released by the thrower.
And while I absolutely agree about not being "over-officious", like I said, the defender had hold of the offensive players jersey and it was stretched quite far.
By rule ( and trust me, I'm not a "rule book" official)
and intentional foul is one where an "obvious advantage" is gained. That's what happened on this play. (I went right to my rule book after the game, ready to sho the coach the "rule" if he wanted to "talk."
By the way, even though we don't want to be over-officious,
we also can't be afraid to make the tough call when it is the RIGHT call, and needs to be made, NO MATTER WHAT THE TIME AND SCORE IS! IMO