Quote:
Originally Posted by Man In Blue
Team B puts on full court press of team A after a made basket.
1. B2 holds A2 away from the ball as part of the press before the ball is passed in bounds.
2. A2 sets an illegal screen on B2 before the ball is passed in bounds after a made basket.
By rule are these both intentional fouls?
I have never called either of these fouls intentional no matter the time in the game. I also have never seen them called intentional. I know that doesn't make it right but should they be called intentional?
|
By rule, no, they are not intentional fouls. Intentional fouls are your judgment, not a rule. (Contrast this with FIBA which says that B fouls on an IB play are in fact UNS fouls (equiv to INT).)
If you judged B2 to intentionally hold A2, then yes come up with the X. An illegal screen being INT? I can't imagine how...
I think in my career, I have seen one INT-hold on an IB play. Very rare, imho.