Thread: Team Disparity
View Single Post
Old Tue Feb 10, 2009, 03:18am
Official Forum Member

I like Bobs answer

and I'm not just sucking up to a moderator either.

Having been on both sides of very lopsided scores as a coach, I really like this:

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Officiate the game, not the scoreboard.
At 1-15, it's likely this team has "tossed in the towel." They might compete hard for a little while, but as soon as it looks like it's the same old thing again, they will usually stop competing hard. Of course there are exceptions, but that's what it's like on the girls side.

When I know we are playing a very weak team, I want to put them away early because I don't want them to get it in their heads that they have a chance to win and keep playing real hard. Not because they might beat us, but because the chance of injury is much higher when the opponent thinks they have a chance to win and the only way they can beat you is by playing harder than you. Next thing you know they are running through you, diving into your legs for loose balls, fighting and scrapping for everything. They still are going to lose, but now it's ugly time.