Quote:
Originally Posted by kfo9494
There is a play in the NFHS case book that is very similar--
Page 50, 8.2.6 situation D.
>
There are no runners on base with two outs. B3 has a 3-2 count. On the next pitch B3 swings and misses. The ball bounces off F2's shin guard and lands in front of home plate. (drop third strike in fair territory) As F2 moves out to field the ball,B3 runs into her, knocking her down.
Ruling- This is interference..........
>
I would assume that any contact, on a playable ball, would be interference. I don't think it is only INT if she is knocked down
|
This play is ruled interference because it is specifically mentioned in the rule (8-2-6), The batter-runner is out: Art 6. ....interferes with a dropped third strike.
The ball being over fair territory is not part of the rule, just that it is a dropped third strike. I believe the distinction is made because in any other circumstance the batter (or BR) has to do something "intentional" to cause interference if she is in the batter's box.