Thread: What's the Call
View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 11:05pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:

Runner on 2B. Ball is hit to the shallow right field.

R1 misses 3B enroute to the plate, but realizes he will be put out and reverses direction. While attempting to return to 3B, R1 is obstructed and tagged out by F5.
DEAD BALL! Since the umpire has killed the play, all runners should be given the opportunity to complete their baserunning responsibilities, then make the appropriate awards.

In this case, I think it is obvious the runner was obstructed returning to 3B, so the award would most likely be 3B.

Quote:
Defense immediately appeals the runner missing 3B.
The appeal should not be accepted until the runner completes their running responsibilities. Since R1 is now standing on 3B, the appeal is not upheld.

Also, B2 would be awarded any bases the umpire believes the BR/R would have reached had there been no OBS.
Reply With Quote