Thread: Obs/int
View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2009, 09:35am
CajunNewBlue CajunNewBlue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
Tom, I put that "(sic)" in there just for you!




If we do some digging, I would imagine that we could find other situations that are covered by "interpretation" rather than a verbatim black-and-white printed rule.

As an NFHS umpire, I assume that you have their Umpire Manual. I do not (I do FED baseball in the spring, ASA/NSA softball the rest of the year). If so, I would be curious to know what it says there about this play. That might be handy, too!

By the way, this ruling isn't something unique to ASA or FED softball. It is a ruling common to multiple baseball and softball rule sets.
I do have the NFHS umpire manual and its not covered. All I can find is the earlier posts of "give them wide latitude for this play" and I'm not saying i totally disagree with any of them. I just find that it makes our job a little harder (but, I guess that's why we get the big bucks )
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote