Thread: Obs/int
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2009, 08:35am
CajunNewBlue CajunNewBlue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
All the above would be really handy.... if i called ASA ball. but since I dont (well ok, i do but thats later in the year.) and we are in the FED season.
I scoured the rulebooks and the casebooks (that i have) and all I get for the OP is that the batter is now a runner and must avoid interfering with a fielder making the initial play on a fair batted/bunted ball.
So, that being said.. was the BR doing what she is suppose/have to be doing? NO.
Was the fielder (catcher) doing what/how she is suppose to be doing? YES

Now that ive said all that, consider this. I have two coaches on this play that want a call either way... i give them a "thats nothing mechanic" and now i have two coaches pissed off and the defensive coach says "ummm hey blue doesnt the runner have to avoid contact on this play?. I say "yes normally, but not in this case and not by rule. but by some pontification by the NFHS board that wont make a rule specific to this unique play"
Ok, thats more than 5 words.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.

Last edited by CajunNewBlue; Fri Feb 06, 2009 at 08:38am.
Reply With Quote