Thread: Ruling
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 01:09pm
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30 View Post
Chewing the fat after pregame last night and one of the crew came up with this sitch.

A1 shooting free throw, we have a lane violation on B2 which prompts a delayed call with extended fist. Prior to shooting, A coach is granted timeout. The logic is that the TO does not end the free throw attempt (even though the shooter will get a new ten (10) second count after the TO.

Upon resumption do you honor delayed violation call? Can't find any backup or casebook scenario. I said yes, as it would be similar to running endline priviledge that would apply after a timeout.

Thoughts?

fullor30:

Yes. The delayed dead violation stays in effect, even if B2 occupies a different position on the court after the TO or is subsituted for during the TO. I am certain that there has been either a Casebook Play or an Interpretation or both published in the past.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio

Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Wed Feb 04, 2009 at 01:12pm. Reason: Added sentence.
Reply With Quote