View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 01, 2009, 01:05pm
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,106
I am going to join the discussion because I think that the thread is jumping around all over the place and not following a logical sequence with regard to the Play; and based upon the description of the play , I am going to state that we are discussing a game played using NFHS Rules.


The rules that are germane to our discussion are:

Rule 4: Definitions.

R4-S6: Definition of basket interference.

R4-S19-A4: Definition of a flagrant foul.

R4-S22: Definition of goaltending.


Rule 9: Violations and Their Penalties.

R9-S11: Basket interference is a violation.

R9-S12: Goaltending is a violation.

Penalties for Sections 11 and 12: Penalty 1.


Rule 10: Technical Fouls.

R10-S3-A9: Goaltending a free throw is a technical foul.


Goaltending a free throw is, I think, the only infraction of the rules that, by definition, is both a violation (R4-S46-A3: Type 3, free throw violations) and a foul (technical foul by a player) that occur simultaneously. How can that statement be made one asks?

Violations are infractions of the rules which are penalized but not charged; fouls are infractions of the rules which are penalized and charged.

The penalties for violations can include the offended team being awarded a throw-in, a substitute free throw, or points awarded, but nobody from the offending team (player, bench personnel, or team) is charged (See R4-S47: delay of game exceptions.) with committing the infraction in the Scorebook.

The penalty for fouls can be the offended team being awarded a throw-in, free throws, or both and the offending team (player, bench personnel, or team) is charged in the Scorebook.


When B1 entered the free throw lane before the free throw attempt had touched the backboard or basket rim, he committed a delayed dead ball free throw violation. He then proceeded to commit a goaltending violation (which causes the ball to become dead) which was also a technical foul. Points are awarded for the goaltending violation and B1 is charged with a TF for goaltending a free throw.

R10-S3-A9 is quite specific in that it does not consider goaltending a free throw a flagrant foul. The question is: How do we, as officials, handle a situation such as this one?

I will admit that I do not know how I would handle this situation. I would love to hang a flagrant TF on B1, and I do feel BudJones05 pain on this one, but based upon how the definitions are currently written it would be difficult by rule. If B1 went up to swat A1's field goal attempt away and the ball landed in the third row, would we charge B1 with a flagrant TF for unsportsmanlike conduct? While this play is not quite the same as Bud's play, I do not think so.

That's my two cents for today.


GO STEELERS!!! BEAT THE CARDINALS!!!


MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote