View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 31, 2009, 01:08pm
eg-italy eg-italy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
For those that don't know, TOs in a FIBA game go through the table:

HCs request a TO through the table and if there's one to be granted, it is granted at the next "TO opportunity". The timer will stop the clock for the request (if the clock is running when the TO opportunity arises) and then sound the horn.

TO opportunities include:
  1. during a dead ball because of a violation, foul, or held ball
  2. after last free throw and it is successful
  3. dead ball territory if you're scored upon, except between free throws

In the case that each HC has a TO request "at the table", the one that first requested the TO has theirs granted if each team is in a valid TO opportunity (1 and 2).

So my situation: each team has a pending TO and there's a shooting foul. So we grant White's TO because their request came first.

TO is done and we shoot the free throws for White. Second shot goes in, and the horn doesn't sound for Black's TO that still remains.

The ball was already inbounded with 1 controlled dribble. I did know how much time was on the clock during the previous dead ball period. It was an important situation because we were in fact under 2 minutes left in the game. Since White scored on Black (the second free throw), Black's granted TO means their throw-in is now at the DL opposite the table, with both front and back court privileges.

But I didn't blow it dead and do what the rule says.

I guess I now own this rule. (I would have killed the play, issued the TO, put the proper time back on the clock, and award the DL throw-in.)
In the case when both coaches request a TO, there are two cases:
(1) the next TO opportunity is for both teams (for example, after a violation)
(2) the next TO opportunity is for one team only (the other team scores a field goal)

In case 1 the TO is charged to the team whose coach requested it first; in case 2 the TO is charged to the team entitled to it (the non scoring team).

The "pending" TO request is disregarded: if the other coach wants one, it must be requested anew. In other words, there is only one pending request at a time. After all, the other team did use a TO, didn't they?

I can't show a rule, but this is how it's been done since the rules allowed for a TO after a field goal.

In your case, if Black wants a TO in order to advance the ball at the division line, they have to request explicitly another one after the ball has become live. Otherwise the "pending" TO would have been granted immediately after White's TO, surely something that Black would not want, since it wouldn't allow to advance the ball after the free throws.

Ciao
Reply With Quote