
Wed Jan 28, 2009, 07:36am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef
He left the court for an AUTHORIZED reason -- his momentum carried him out of bounds -- which is completely legal. The player is then expected to return to the court without delay. The rule does not specify that the player must return at the same spot from which he left. Therefore, I am going to give the player leeway in these situations.
For example, if a player takes a full speed right hand lay-up and his momentum carries him off of the court, he very well may end up coming back on the other side of the backboard since his momentum was carrying him in that direction. If I happen to be the lead on the opposite side, the player may end up quickly coming back to the court ending up behind at some point.
I am not going to go looking for trouble, here. If the player attempts to quickly return to the court, I have nothing. You really cannot call a violation, in my opinion, in this case. If you feel as though you HAVE to have SOMETHING, I believe that your only choice is a technical foul for not returning to the court. But, I am far more apt to let this go -- unless we have a 40 foot run along the end line.
|
Excellent answer.
|