Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456
I don't have great access to a rulebook, so I'll ask here.
Last night a player was on one knee and picked up the ball while on one knee. He then stood up. I whistled for a walking violation, and there were no complaints.
Was that correct?
|
Case Book situation 4.44.5D. You got it correct.
4.44.5 SITUATION D: A1 secures possession of the ball with one knee in contact with the floor. May A1 assume a standing position without committing a traveling violation? RULING: It depends on what A1 does. If A1 attempts to stand up while holding the ball, a traveling violation occurs. However, if A1 starts a dribble and then rises, no violation has occurred. Also, A1 could pass, try for goal or call a time-out from that position.