View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2009, 01:11am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Does continuous motion apply here? A technical can only be assessed if the backboard is slapped during a try. Since the ball wasn't released, was the try in progress? If not, a technical foul cannot be assessed. If the try was in progress, nice call.

A player who strikes a backboard, during a tap, or a try, so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul.
Very poor wording of the rule, which needs to be changed.

Nice job pointing out the flaw.
Reply With Quote