View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 24, 2009, 12:38am
CMHCoachNRef CMHCoachNRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatthewPV View Post
Freshman Girls, I called a player control foul on a a girl that made contact with a defender I felt has legal guarding position. The coach erupted because he said her feet were not set. So I have to ask, do the feet have to be solidly on the floor and set in order for it to be a player control foul?
First of all, here are the actual rules concerning legal guarding position:
Rule 4-23
ART. 2 . . . To obtain an initial legal guarding position:
a. The guard must have both feet touching the playing court.
b. The front of the guard' torso must be facing the opponent.
ART. 3 . . . After the initial legal guarding position is obtained:
a. The guard may have one or both feet on the playing court or be airborne,
provided he/she has inbound status.
b. The guard is not required to continue facing the opponent.
c. The guard may move laterally or obliquely to maintain position, provided it
is not toward the opponent when contact occurs.
d. The guard may raise hands or jump within his/her own vertical plane.
e. The guard may turn or duck to absorb the shock of imminent contact.
ART. 4 . . . Guarding an opponent with the ball or a stationary opponent without
the ball:
a. No time or distance is required to obtain an initial legal position.
b. If the opponent with the ball is airborne, the guard must have obtained legal
position before the opponent left the floor.

By the way, as a rule coaches of freshmen teams are not necessarily the most knowledgeable when it comes to the Rules Book.....
Reply With Quote