| 
				  
 
			
			I was not at the game, but it was described to me at ourlast official's meeting and from other descriptions I heard:
 Kick Off Return-- team R player returns for an apparent TD-
 BUT
 drops the ball on the 2 yard line (must be he mistakingly thought
 he was in the end zone)
 the ball lies on the ground for (I'm really not sure how long)
 -- covering official correctly does not signal TD and makes no
 signal or any other indication-------
 eventually a player from K picks up the ball and tries to hand it
 to the covering official who backs off ---- finally a player from
 R comes over and attempting to take ball from player K --
 covering official blows his whistle and points to a change of
 possesion for team K-- 1st down !!!!
 -----------------------------------
 at the meeting-- everyone thought that it was the correct call-
 but as I thought more about it----
 I think the covering official should have blown his whistle
 originally when the ball lie grounded with no one in possesion
 and no one trying to gain possesion---- and the ball should have
 been rules in possesion of team R (last in team possesion)
 with first and goal for them at the 2 yard line !
 -----------------------------------
 reaction ????
 
			
			
			
			
				  |