quote:
Originally posted by linejudge:
K is in kick formation (field goal). 4th/10 on Bs 15 yd line. K is in kick formation (field goal). 4th/10 on Bs 15 yd line. The snap is muffed by K2 and then as the ball is rolling around on the ground is kicked by K1, which goes through the uprights
I am partly guessing here, since no bible is handy. This is an illegal kick. 15 yards from the spot of the foul. Basic spot is the previous spot(loose ball enforcement), and the foul occurred behind the basic spot, so enforce from the spot of the foul. There is no score since it was not a legal kick. What I cannot remember is if it carries a Loss of Down penalty.
If no Loss of down here is what I have:
15 yards from where ball was kicked, repeat fourth down.
If Loss of down is included:
15 yards from where ball is kicked and B will take over 1st and 10.
What do you think?
Erick
You're ruling is pretty much on the money as far as penalty acceptance, but "B" may want to decline this penalty, here's why.  You are correct in saying the penalty is  enforced from the spot of the foul.  We would mark off 15 yards and replay the down (no loss of down).  "A" would then get another chance at making the field goal.  If the penalty is declined, B would get the ball at the 20 yard line.  When the ball is loose following an illegal kick it is treated as a fumble.  An illegal kick cannot score a field goal since, in effect, it is not a kick at all, simply a loose ball.  The results of the play are that a loose ball went out of the end zone.  Since the force for the ball going into & out of the end zone was provided by A, it is a touchback and B's ball at the 20 yard line.  This  topic has been discussed on this board on a couple other occasions & this can be a somewhat tricky situation if you're not familiar with these rulings.