View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 21, 2009, 08:49pm
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref_in_Alberta View Post
FIBA rules are very clear on this - an unsportsmanlike foul must be assessed. It is in the interpretations for Art. 36 Unsportsmanlike Fouls. The case the OP has FIBA interprets the "correct" ruling as the following -

Because the team B player is obviously not makeing any effort to play the ball and an unsportsmanlike advantage is gained by not allowing the game clock to restart. An unsportsmanlike foul must be called without a warning given.

Now having said that, in the case where the ball has left the hands of the team A player and then the foul occurs, this should be judged as a normal personal foul unless the severity of the contact warrants an upgrade to an unsportsmanlike or disqualifying foul.

This is a new interpretation for the rule changes that occurred after the Olympics. And Yes I have had to make this call since my season started.
You are correct that the FIBA ruling is that an unsportsmanlike foul must be called. However, I believe it is an INCORRECT rule. Instead, it should be a referee's discretion.

B2 is not playing the ball - but could be trying to anticipate where A2 will be going to receive a pass, and might foul A2 by accident. The exact same situation can happen with the ball inbounds, and it is not an unsportsmanlike foul.

Bad rule!
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote