View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 20, 2009, 08:30pm
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
The arrow doesn't change until the throw-in ends or Team B violates.

Since a foul occurs, the arrow is not changed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatthewPV View Post
So in the above situation, does the arrow change in any of the following situations (all before the ball is inbounded):

5 second count on Team B? - B violation = switch the arrow.

Foul by Team B? - Foul, therefore do not switch the arrow.

Foul by Team A? - Foul, therefore do not switch the arrow.

Team B steps on the line as they throw it in? - Stepping ON the line is fine, when inbounding, because the line is out of bounds, by definition. So if the thrower-in steps ON the line, it's nothing: the administering officials keep the 5-second count running, and B still must throw-in the ball.

Ball is inbounded, not touched, and goes out of bounds? - Throw-in violation. Switch the arrow, and issue the new throw-in from the same location as the AP throw-in.

Team A has a kick violationing. - Throw-in did NOT end, because neither of BktBallRef's conditions were met. Do not switch the arrow and give Team B a throw-in for the kicking violation. Yes B will get the next AP throw-in.

Thanks.
Using the statements that BktBallRef provided, see the answers in red.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote