View Single Post
  #84 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 20, 2009, 09:09am
waltjp waltjp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by bisonlj View Post
I know you did not see the play. I am just looking for clarification. Consider these three hypothetical situations:
  1. A80 goes up to catch a pass while airborn where he is immediately contacted and tackled
  2. A80 catches a pass with both feet already on the ground. He is contacted as he catches the ball and is immediately tackled
  3. A80 catches a pass with both feet on the ground and runs another 3 yards before he is contacted and tackled
In each case, A80 maintains possession throughout the catch until his arms contact the ground and the ball comes loose.

My understanding was this was an incomplete pass in situation (a). Someone else has told me it's also an incomplete pass in situation (b) but not (c). Those who have seen the play debate whether (b) or (c) is what happened. I leaned toward (c) but I would have to see it again. Regardless of what actually happened on this play, do you know if the rules support situation (b) as complete or incomplete?
I'd rule incomplete in (a) and (b), complete in (c).
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote