View Single Post
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 19, 2009, 09:34am
mdray mdray is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Case 10.6.1E, last in the 2004-05 case book (typos are mine):B1 attempts to steal the ball from stationary A1 who is holding the ball. b1 misses the ball and falls to the floor. In dribbling away, A1 contacts' B1's leg, loses control of the ball and falls to the floor. RULING: No infraction or foul has occurred and play continues. Unless B1 made an effrot to trip or block A1, he/she is entitled to a position on the court even if it is momentarily lying on the floor after falling down.

That should clear up how the FED *wanted* the play called. Open for discussion, of course, is the unresolved "are case plays that are no longer published still valid?"
thanks for citing this...what if A1 had not lost control of the ball when he/she fell to the floor....the caseplay cited would seem to imply that a travel call would be the correct call at that point....
Reply With Quote